draining the tank

The uphill battle of avoiding freezing pipes seemed like too much to bite off between August 22nd and the first freeze (which ended up being about 3 weeks). After purchase, I quickly made the decision to live without running water and traditional plumbing. 

I removed the black tank (read: disgusting task) and old toilet and installed a composting toilet. (below: part way through install)

  
I bought a plastic tub for the sink so that I catch any liquid that could potentially go down there.

I got some plastic camping growlers to carry water in. I fill them up every few days for drinking water, brushing teeth, and brewing coffee. 

Jerry sold me the trome with a full tank of water. A tank full of Penrose water, which apparently is no good. Last weekend before the snow started flying, I finally drained the big tank. It was like Tink was peeing out there in the middle of the Ranch’s field. 

  
And for all those who want to know … so far, so good. 

Leave a comment